Asking for Bravery

Have you ever been so scared, you wanted bravery so badly? It happens to me so often, since I am always scared. My name is Jason. This is my story.

I always ask my mom, why am I basically feared of everything? My mom said that was the way I was born. Ugh, I don’t like being scared. But I’m just like that. I hate that answer.

Today I woke up, ready to start my day. Since it was winter, the room wasn’t as bright. I started shivering, and hid under my covers. What if there’s a ghost out there? With no choice, I put my covers over my head and slowly, without a sound, walked to the light switch. I flicked it on, and— Whew, there was no ghost. Thank the gods.

When I arrived at school, my teacher Mrs.Lee said there would be a math quiz. Oh no! I wasn’t prepared. I felt like I was turned inside out. Beads of sweat appeared at my forehead. When Mrs.Lee gave me my test sheet I was feared to death. Well, almost death. I started crying. I know a boy shouldn’t cry, but I was too scared. I was too scared to get a bad mark.

Mrs.Lee did talk to me, but that didn’t make me feel better. She said I need to be brave.  There are many other things like this that happened, like the time when my friend hid behind the wall and scared me, and I instantly fainted; the time when I was scared to go to the washroom in the middle of the night on my own; the time when I was scared to sleep alone in my room.

Well, that was years ago, and now I’m me. I got braver. I wasn’t that scared anymore. My name is Jason. This was my story, asking for Bravery.

Learn from stories,

~Stories by Sherry ^_^

Leave a Reply

